
 

 
INTERIM COMMISSIONER

Jon Weizenbaum
 
 
December 11, 2009 
 
 
To: Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Mental Retardation (ICF/MR) Providers 
 
Subject: Information Letter No. 09-172 

Client Movement Form Required for All Resident Transactions (Admissions and 
Discharges) 

 
 
Purpose: 
 
Intermediate Care Facility providers must submit Department of Aging and Disability (DADS) 
discharges within 3 days after the effective date of discharge. Discharges are submitted via the 
Client Movement Form available in Client Assignment and Registration System (CARE). 
 
Facilities should review the Texas Administrative Code 40 TAC §9.227(e): 
 

Within 3 days after the effective date of a discharge, a program provider must: 
(1) electronically submit a completed Client Movement Form to the department; and 
(2) submit a paper copy of the completed Client Movement Form to the appropriate Health 
and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Medicaid eligibility worker 

 
Intermediate Care Facility providers have a contractual responsibility to report admissions and 
discharges and not submit a claim for services when a Medicaid client has left their facility. Billing 
for days the individual is not in the facility could result in a referral to the Office of the Inspector 
General for fraudulent billing. 
 
Section F of the provider agreement that states that the Intermediate Care Facility agrees to: 
 

Submit claims for payment including electronic claims, in accordance with billing guidelines 
and procedures promulgated by DADS. The Owner certifies that information submitted 
regarding claims will be true, accurate and complete, and that such information can be 
verified by source documents from which data entry is made by the Owner. Further, the 
Owner understands that payments of the claim will be from federal and state funds and that 
any falsification or concealment of a material fact may be prosecuted under federal and 
state laws. 

 
Impact to Providers and Consumers: 

Timely and accurate submission of client movement forms benefits providers by updating the 
payment system to reflect appropriate service dates and resident eligibility. Documentation of 
these transactions allows the consumer’s new service provider to admit and bill for the current 
services. In addition, submission within 72 hours facilitates timely payments to residents who are 
eligible for Personal Needs Allowance benefits. 

701 W. 51st St. • P.O. Box 149030 Austin, Texas 78714-9030 • (512) 438-3011 • www.dads.state.tx.us 
 



Information Letter No. 09-172 
December 11, 2009 
Page 2 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
Providers who do not submit and process the Client Movement Form, as required, are out of 
compliance with their contract and subject to adverse action, including vendor holds. 
 
For questions related to admission and discharge policy, providers may contact Geri Willems, 
Manager for Institutional Services Policy Development and Support, at 512-438-3159 or by email 
at geri.willems@dads.state.tx.us. 
 
For questions related to the Client Movement Form, providers my contact HHSC Field Support 
Staff at 512-438-4720, option “0” and for billing issues, providers may contact Provider Claims 
Services at 512-438-2200, option 1. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
[signature on file] 
 
William Campbell, Director 
Institutional Services Section 
Provider Services 
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