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COMMISSIONER 

Jon Weizenbaum 
 
August 8, 2013 
 
To:  Nursing Facilities 
 
Subject:  Provider Letter 13-13 – Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program 

(NATCEP) and in-service Requirements (replaces Provider Letter 07-57) 
 
Senate Bill 795 (82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011) added new in-service 
requirements for nurse aides effective September 1, 2013.  The new rules are located in the Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 94, Nurse Aides. 
 
An individual must complete a training program and competency evaluation approved by the 
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) before DADS lists the individual on 
the nurse aide registry.  Effective September 1, 2013 the training program must provide a 
minimum of 100 hours of course work.  The course work must include 60 hours of classroom 
training and 40 hours of clinical training (40 TAC §94.3(i)). The competency evaluation must 
include a skills demonstration and a written or oral examination (40 TAC §94.6(i)). 
 
The fourth edition of the “Texas Curriculum for Nurse Aides in Long Term Care Facilities” is 
available on the DADS website.  NATCEPs that start training on or after September 1, 2013, are 
required to use the revised curriculum.  Changes to the curriculum include: 

• Format changes 
• Added or updated information on: 

o culture change 
o infection control 
o dealing with difficult behavior 
o communication skills and conflict resolution 

• Guidance on the use of technologies and social media 
• Adoption of the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program skills 
• New forms: 

o Sign-in sheet for classroom and clinical training 
o Updated student performance record 

• A reference page 
 
A listing of active status on the Nurse Aide Registry (NAR) expires 24 months after the nurse aide 
is listed or 24 months after the last date of verified employment as a nurse aide, whichever is 
earlier (40 TAC §94.9(d)). 
 
To renew active status on the NAR, the following requirements must be met: 

• A nursing facility must submit a DADS Employment Verification form (Form 5509-NAR) 
to DADS documenting that the nurse aide has performed paid nursing or nursing-related 
services at the facility during the preceding year. 

http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=40&pt=1&ch=94&rl=Y
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=1&ch=94&rl=3
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=1&ch=94&rl=6
http://www.dads.state.tx.us/providers/NF/credentialing/NATCEP/cnaEffective9-13.pdf
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=1&ch=94&rl=9
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• A nurse aide must submit a DADS Employment Verification form (Form 5506-NAR) to 
DADS documenting that the nurse aide has performed paid nursing or nurse-related 
services, if documentation is not submitted by the facility or facilities where the nurse aide 
was employed. 

• Effective September 1, 2013, a nurse aide must complete at least 24 hours of in-service 
education every two years that includes training in geriatrics and the care of residents with 
a dementia disorder, including Alzheimer’s disease.  The in-service training must be 
completed in a nursing facility or an approved NATCEP (40 TAC §94.9(d)(1-4)). 

 
Nursing facilities are required to keep in-service records and provide training for nurse aides per 
40 TAC §19.1929(5), 40 TAC §19.1903(8) and 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 
§483.75(e)(8). 
 
A nursing facility must provide in-service education after an assessment of the nurse aide’s 
performance.  An assessment must be conducted at least once every 12 months.  The least amount 
of continuing in-service education required is 12 hours annually (24 hours every two years) to 
ensure continuing competence (42 CFR 483.75(e)(8)).  A medication aide is also a nurse aide and 
must receive the same continuing in-service education. 
 
If you need additional information or have specific questions, please contact a Regulatory Services 
Policy, Rules and Curriculum Development policy specialist at 512-438-3161. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
[signature on file] 
 
Susan E. Davis 
Interim Assistant Commissioner 
Regulatory Services 
 
SED:cg 


