
MEMORANDUM 
Texas Department of Human Services 

Long Term Care Policy-Regulatory * Survey and Certification Clarification 
 
 
TO:  Long Term Care-Regulatory  
  Regional Directors and State Office Managers 
 
FROM:  Evelyn Delgado 
  Assistant Deputy Commissioner 
  Long Term Care-Regulatory (LTC -R) 
 
SUBJECT: Assisted Living Facility Administrative Penalties – S&CC 03-01 
 
APPLIES TO:   Assisted Living Facilities 
 
DATE:  December 15, 2003 

 
As of September 1, 2003, enforcement began on the new administrative penalties enacted by the 77th 
Legislative 2001, Regular Session.  The Department of Human Services’ rules on administrative penalties 
are found in the Licensing Standards for Assisted Living Facilities at 40 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), 
Chapter 92, Subchapter H. Enforcement, Division 9.  Provider Letter 03-22, “Changes to the Licensing 
Standards for Assisted Living Facilities,” dated August 29, 2003, notified providers of the administrative 
penalty rules. 
 
Administrative penalties for assisted living facilities (ALFs) are assessed on a per occurrence basis.  A 
per occurrence administrative penalty may be imposed for each instance of facility noncompliance. The 
administrative penalty fee schedule is based on the rule violated, the size of the facility and the size of the 
business owning entity.  For each penalty, there are four possible penalty amounts:  
 
• If an administrative penalty is recommended under §92.16, Change of Ownership, and the facility is a 

small facility and the owner owns only one facility, the penalty assessed is $300.   
• If the facility is a small facility and the owner owns more than one facility, then the administrative 

penalty is $400.   
• If the facility is a large facility and the owner has only one facility, the penalty is $500.   
• If the owner has more than one facility and the facility is a large facility, the penalty is $600. 
 
To determine the number of facilities owned by the assisted living facility owner, follow these procedures 
in CARES: 
 
• Access the Facility Enrollment module; 
• Click  on “Open facility”; 
• Enter the owner ID number in the “Owner ID” field (use owner ID of the facility with the penalty); 
• Hit “Search” button. 
 
The search results will list all facilities the license holder currently owns for the specific date the search is 
made and by program type.  A region is not required to ascertain if licenses for new facilities or change of 
ownership inspections are pending for the owning entity.  To determine if a license holder is a 
“multiple-facility owner,” for the purpose of this policy, only currently licensed ALF’s are 
considered.  The license status of a facility can be determined by opening the individual facility record 
and selecting the “License and Certification” tab. 
 
At the present time, the ALF “Administrative Penalty Report,” (Form 3719) cannot be generated 
electronically from CARES. Until further notice, regions should process the ALF penalties by using the 
Word documents that are attached to this memo. 
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The Administrative Penalty Report (Form 3719) is created by the regions and sent to the facility with the 
notice letter.  Appeal rights will be offered by the region with the notice of the Administrative Penalty 
Report. 
 
The Administrative Penalty Report (Form 3719) is processed as follows: 
 
Form 3719 AL-No Right to Correct Regions send form to owner/facility with notice 

letter and fax form to State Office Sanctions Unit 
       at (512) 438-2729. 
 
Form 3719AL2-Right to Correct Regions send form to owner/facility with notice 

letter. 
 
Form 3719AL3-Right to Correct,                                       Regions send form to owner/facility with notice  
                          Corrected letter. 
  
Form 3719AL4-Right to Correct,  Regions send form to owner/facility with notice   

Not Corrected letter and fax form to State Office Sanctions Unit 
at (512) 438-2729.     

        
If you have questions about how to apply this policy, please contact the LTC -R Policy Unit at (512) 438-
3161.  For questions about a specific penalty, contact the LTC -R Enforcement and Sanctions Section at 
(512) 438-4425. 
 
 
[signature on file] 
 
Evelyn Delgado 
 
ED:pc 
 
Attachments 
 
c:    Bettye M. Mitchell, W-515 
       Paul Leche, W-615 
       Lawrence Parker, W-450 
       Regional Administrators 
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ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY REPORT – AL 
SUMMARY OF CHARGES 

 
 
 
 
[owner name] 
[owner address] 
[owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
 
 
Facility: [facility id #] [facility name] 
 [facility address] [facility city] [facility state] [facility zip code] 
 
Penalty Assessed Against: [owner name] 
                                           [owner address] [owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
Original Visit: [visit date] 
 
Purpose of Visit: [purpose of visit] 
 
 
 
Penalty 1 Basis:  [TAC #]             Penalty Amount  [$00.00]                Right to Correct: No   
 
Penalty Statement: 
[TAC text] 
 
In accordance with Health and Safety Code Section 247.0454, you have the right to a hearing on the 
occurrence of the violation, the amount of the penalty, or both.  You may request a hearing by completing 
the attached Form 3646.  The hearing must be requested no later than the 20th day after receipt of this 
notice.  Form 3646 and a copy of this letter should be mailed to Fairy Rutland, Director, Hearings 
Department (W-613), P.O. Box 149030, Austin, TX 78714-9030. 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact:  
   
                                                     [Program Manager], Phone [phone number]. 
 
  
_______________________________________   _______________________________ 
Program Manager      Date 



 

1 of 1 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY REPORT - AL 

SUMMARY OF CHARGES 
 
 
 
 
[owner name] 
[owner address] 
[owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
 
 
Facility: [facility id #] [facility name] 
 [facility address] [facility city] [facility state] [facility zip code] 
 
Penalty Assessed Against: [owner name] 
                                           [owner address] [owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
Original Visit: [visit date] 
 
Purpose of Visit: [purpose of visit] 
 
 
 
Penalty 1 Basis:  [TAC #] Penalty Amount  [$00.00] Right to Correct: Yes    
 
Penalty Statement: 
[TAC text] 
 
The facility has the right to correct the cited violation(s) and must submit a plan of correction to be 
approved by Texas Department of Human Services.  You must submit the plan of correction no later than 
the 10th calendar day after receipt of this notice.  The correction(s) for the cited violation(s) must be 
completed no later than the 45th day after receipt of this notice. 
 
In accordance with Health and Safety Code Section 247.0454, you have the right to a hearing on the 
occurrence of the violation, the amount of the penalty, or both.  You may request a hearing by completing 
the attached Form 3646.  The hearing must be requested no later than the 20th day after receipt of this 
notice.  Form 3646 and a copy of this letter should be mailed to Fairy Rutland, Director, Hearings 
Department (W-613), P.O. Box 149030, Austin, TX 78714-9030. You will have an additional opportunity 
to request a hearing if the violation(s) are not corrected within 45 days and penalties are imposed.   
 
If you have any questions, you may contact:  
   
                                                     [Program Manager], Phone [phone number]. 
 
  
 
_______________________________________   _______________________________ 
Program Manager      Date 
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ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY REPORT – AL 
SUMMARY OF CHARGES 

 
 
 
 
[owner name] 
[owner address] 
[owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
 
 
Facility: [facility id #] [facility name] 
 [facility address] [facility city] [facility state] [facility zip code] 
 
Penalty Assessed Against: [owner name] 
    [owner address] [owner city], [owner state ] [owner zip code] 
 
Original Visit: [visit date] 
 
Purpose of Visit: [purpose of visit] 
 
 
 
Penalty 1 Basis:  [TAC #]             Penalty Amount  [$00.00]                Right to Correct: Yes  
 
The Texas Department of Human Services conducted a revisit on [follow-up visit date] and determined 
that the violation(s) cited above on the visit of [original visit date] (was/were ) corrected; therefore, the 
penalty for the violation(s) will not be imposed. 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact:  
   
                                                     [Program Manager], Phone [phone number]. 
 
  
_______________________________________   _______________________________ 
Program Manager      Date 
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ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY REPORT – AL 
SUMMARY OF CHARGES 

 
 
 
 
[owner name] 
[owner address] 
[owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
 
 
Facility: [facility id #] [facility name] 
 [facility address] [facility city] [facility state] [facility zip code] 
 
Penalty Assessed Against: [owner name] 
                                           [owner address] [owner city], [owner state] [owner zip code] 
 
Original Visit: [visit date] 
 
Purpose of Visit: [purpose of visit] 
 
 
 
Penalty 1 Basis:  [TAC #]             Penalty Amount  [$00.00]                Right to Correct: Yes  
 
The Department of Human Services conducted a revisit on [follow-up visit date] and determined that the 
violation(s) cited above on the visit of [original visit date]  (was/were ) not corrected; therefore, the 
penalty for the violation(s) will be imposed. 
 
In accordance with Health and Safety Code Section 247.0454, you have the right to a hearing on the 
occurrence of the violation, the amount of the penalty, or both.  You may request a hearing by completing 
the attached Form 3646.  The hearing must be requested no later than the 20th day after receipt of this 
notice.  Form 3646 and a copy of this letter should be mailed to Fairy Rutland, Director, Hearings 
Department (W-613), P.O. Box 149030, Austin, TX 78714-9030. 
 
If you have any questions, you may contact:  
   
                                                     [Program Manager], Phone [phone number]. 
 
  
_______________________________________   _______________________________ 
Program Manager      Date 
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§92.559. What is the administrative penalty schedule? The administrative penalty schedule lists 
the gradations of administrative penalty fees: 
 
 
 

SMALL FACILITY 
(4-16 beds) 

LARGE FACILITY 
(17+ beds) 

ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY 
SCHEDULE 

Business 
entity owns 
one facility 

Business 
entity owns 
multiple 
facilities 

Business 
entity owns 
one facility 

Business 
entity owns 
multiple 
facilities 

§92.2. Basis and Scope $300 $450 $500 $650 
§92.4. Types of Assisted Living 
Facilities 

$300 $450 $500 $650 

§92.10. Criteria for Licensing $300 $450 $500 $650 
§92.11. Building Approval $250 $350 $450 $550 
§92.14. Increase in Capacity $300 $400 $500 $600 
§92.15. Renewal Procedures 
and Qualifications 

$300 $400 $500 $600 

§92.16. Change of Ownership $300 $400 $500 $600 
§92.20. License Fees $300 $400 $500 $600 
§92.21. Advertisements, 
Solicitations, and Promotional 
Material 

$250 $350 $450 $550 

§92.41. Standards for Type A, 
Type B, and Type E Assisted 
Living Facilities 

    

(a) employees $350 $550 $750 $950 
(b) social services $200 $300 $400 $500 
(c) resident assessment $400 $550 $600 $750 
(d) resident policies $250 $350 $450 $550 
(e) admission policies $300 $400 $500 $600 
(f) inappropriate placement in 
Type A or Type B facilities 

Not 
applicable 

Not 
applicable 

Not 
applicable 

Not 
applicable 

(g) advance directives $500 $500 $500 $500 
(h) resident records $200 $300 $400 $500 
(i) personnel records $200 $300 $400 $500 
(j) medications $400 $500 $600 $700 
(k) accident, injury, or acute 
illness 

$400 $500 $600 $700 

(l) resident finances $200 $300 $400 $500 
(m) food and nutrition services $400 $550 $700 $850 
(n) infection control $400 $550 $700 $850 
(o) access to residents $150 $200 $250 $300 

§92.51. Licensure of Facilities for 
Persons with Alzheimer's 
Disease 

$200 $300 $400 $500 

§92.53. Standards for Certified 
Alzheimer's Assisted Living 
Facilities 

$400 $500 $600 $700 

§92.61. Facility Construction-
Introduction and Application  

$300 $400 $500 $600 
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§92.62. General Requirements  $350 $450 $550 $650 
§92.71. Introduction and 
Application: Type E Facilities 

$300 $400 -- -- 

§92.72. General Requirements: 
Type E Facilities 

$300 $400 -- -- 

§92.81. Inspections and Surveys $300 $400 $500 $600 
§92.82. Determinations and 
Actions Pursuant to Inspections 

$200 $300 $400 $500 

§92.102. Abuse, Neglect, 
Exploitation Reportable to DHS 
by Facilities 

$700 $800 $900 $1,000 

§92.123. Investigation of Facility 
Employees 

$450 $550 $650 $750 

§92.125. Resident's Bill of Rights 
and Provider Bill of Rights 

    

(a) resident's bill of rights -- -- -- -- 
(1) post and provide copy of bill $100 $150 $200 $250 
(2) right to exercise civil rights $150 $200 $250 $300 
(3) each resident has the right 
to: 

-- -- -- -- 

(A) be free from physical, 
mental abuse, corporal 
punishment, physical, 
chemical restraints for 
discipline/convenience 

$700 $800 $900 $1,000 

(B) participate in activities $150 $200 $250 $300 
(C) religion of choice $150 $200 $250 $300 
(D) if MR, participate in 
behavior modification with 
guardian consent 

$150 $200 $250 $300 

(E)(i)-(iii)--be treated with 
respect, consideration, dignity 

$200 $250 $300 $350 

(F) safe, decent living 
environment 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(G) communicate in native 
language 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(H) complain about care, 
treatment 

$200 $250 $300 $350 

(I) receive and send mail $100 $150 $200 $250 
(J) unrestricted 
communication 

$150 $200 $250 $300 

(K) make community 
contacts 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(L) manage financial affairs $100 $150 $200 $250 
(M) access resident 
records(i)-(ii) 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(N) choose physician and be 
informed about treatment and 
care 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(O) help develop individual 
service plan 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(P)(i)-(ii) opportunity to refuse 
medical  treatment or 

$100 $150 $200 $250 
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services  
(Q) unaccompanied access 
to telephone 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(R) privacy $100 $150 $200 $250 
(S) retain and use personal 
possessions 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(T) determine personal 
preference in dress, hair 
style, personal effects 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(U) retain and use personal 
property 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(V) refuse to perform services $100 $150 $200 $250 
(W)(i)-(ii) be informed about 
Medicare, Medicaid, and 
covered items/services 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(X)(i)-(v) not be 
transferred/discharged except 
under specific conditions 

$300 $350 $400 $450 

(Y)(i)-(v) not be 
transferred/discharged except 
in an emergency without 
specific written notice 

$300 $350 $400 $450 

(Z) leave facility temporarily or 
permanently 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(AA) access the Ombudsman 
program 

$100 $150 $200 $250 

(BB) execute an advance 
directive or designate a 
guardian for decisions 

$200 $250 $300 $350 

§92.127. Required Posting $250 $350 $450 $550 
§§92.351-92.374. Emergency 
License Suspension and Closing 
Order  

$150 $250 $350 $450 

§§92.551-92.595. Administrative 
Penalties 

$400 $500 $600 $700 
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